Appreciate Small Progresses – 2014 Year End Summary

I was learning more about photography last year and I was getting very comfortable with utilizing natural light. When I can get an assistant, I would add a reflector, but that was not much of a stretch. I was stuck. That was a reflection of a lot of things in my life. Towards the end of the year, I felt like I was in a rut. I felt like I needed new goals in different aspects in my life. After achieving a big accomplishment in the middle of the year (if you don’t follow my blog, I became debt free and i was able to take the whole family on a vacation to paradise) and a series of unfortunate events, I needed a new milestone.

In June, I attended photography and makeup workshops but other than that, I felt like there wasn’t very much visible results. They always say that little progress is still progress. Towards the end of the year, I was yearning to do more and to have more to show for it. I was able to book more jobs this year but I was so hard on myself because I knew it was not enough to do it full-time.

As I looked back into my photos and my journals, I had to appreciate the small steps I took then and what I am doing now to get to where I want to be. I invested in myself last year. I got out of my comfort zone and decided to book more shoots than ever. I bought lighting equipment that I am so excited to be learning how to use. I purchased and subscribed to tutorials for me to watch and learn from. I attended more workshops and consulted professionals to increase my business and to hone my skills. I am meeting more people and making more connections. My personal life is also fantastic. I rekindled old friendships and welcomed new friends.

I started out this entry by writing the title “Getting Too Comfortable May Not Be a Great Thing” but I am glad I reflected on my year and saw that it was not a bad one at all. No. Not at all. :) I think 2015 is off to a good start.

One comment

  1. Sammy D.

    Hi Joey 😋 i just saw your photo and ‘like’ on my blog post. Thank you – it was like hearing from an old friend. Last February when I first started blogging, I followed your determination to become debt-free with great interest and encouragement. If more people understood the freedom that gives us, we’d be a much stronger society! Congratulations for reaching your goal and for being able to take your family on vacation.

    You are so beautiful and exude such warmth and sparkle, I smile just thinking what a soecial woman you are. Best wishes in moving firward in 2015; I hope many dreams – and more importantly intentions – come true for you.

    Take care, Sammy 💕

Leave a Reply

