Age and Experience

I have known F for a few years now and I have to say that we both have changed in so many ways. Age and experience can be a beautiful thing. It makes you wiser and more mature. I had a conversation with another friend of mine and asked her if she liked herself better now or when she was younger. Of course, the response was “I would like to have my 22 year-old body with my current wisdom.” Haha!

I teach middle school and I think about what it was like being their age, and oh boy, am I glad I am done with that. The insecurities that come with youth and the way society is now when it comes to self-image would probably crush me. I don’t know if my teenage self would survive the need of likes, cyberbullying, and instafights.

Fiona 11 JL

Anyway, this is my friend F. Let me tell you, she is one of the nicest people I know. Too nice sometimes, if you ask me. She is so generous, thoughtful, and caring. She is just an all around sweetheart. She is very young. Why do I say that like I’m 20 years older? I’m only 4 years older. Lol. I think it’s because she is so full of life and energy. Even when I first met her, she always saw the best in other people.

1-Fiona Collage

I would like to think that I matured beautifully. I have chosen the people to associate myself with very well. I am so glad I am not  a teenager anymore. Life has brought me to a place where I can be at peace with myself. After just a few years of knowing F, I can also see that she is happy with where she’s at (life, family, career, relationships). It is always good to catch up with friends and see that they are doing well.

Fiona 12 JL

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

