Surround Yourself with the Best Influence Possible

Last Sunday night, I was at a dinner with 6 amazing friends. All of a sudden, we were going around the table telling each other what we like about that person. Sounds crazy, right? Who does that while eating? We did. I think for once I was actually able to put down the bread and butter. LOL It was so empowering. It felt great to tell someone about their best qualities and I am not gonna front, it was great to be on the receiving end as well!

I think we need to make it a habit to surround ourselves with people whom we admire and also positively influence us. How else can you improve if not by experiencing first hand the greatness of these people? After dinner on Sunday, I reevaluated myself and thought of the kind of people I hung out with. I was so thrilled that at this point in my life, I could say that I have chosen well.

Sometimes we meet people, work with some, and it is just a fleeting moment. In the last few years, I have made it a point to make deeper and more meaningful relationships with people. Recently, I finally got to know my trainer better. I have been going to Agostina‘s high intensity interval training classes for years now (now an NTC class), but I never got to “know her know her” until a week ago. (Yes, when you say it twice, it makes more sense! Haha!) She’s an A-list trainer and she has always been helpful to me, sending me meal plans and giving awesome workout advice, but apart from that we didn’t talk that much because I was so intimidated by her.

Augie3

Can you see what I am talking about? She is so gorgeous. Right now, you can’t see, but add to that a mean six-pack abs and crazy style!

Anyway, I started talking to her more and showed her my recent projects and she hired me to do her hair and makeup. I was so excited when she ย contacted me. I thought she was just going to do a “test” and see if I was worth her time. I just went over and did my job the best I can and had fun with it. While I was there, I listened to her and saw how she persevered through her past, how she plans her future, how she doesn’t let fear and insecurity stop her from fulfilling her dream. She dreams big. I was in awe of how great a person she was.ย There are definitely a few things I can learn from her.

Augie2

Augie1

Honestly, I was not even expecting anything after that. I was grateful that she liked it. I was touched when she said that people need to know me. I was so shocked when she started giving me shout-outs online.ย I have to say I am a proud new member of TeamAgostina.

Empower the people around you and surround yourself with people who will empower you as well. Positive influence goes a long way. If you are smart with choosing the company you keep, you will have growth. Do NOT forget to stay humble and do not give up.

Products Used:

  1. Primer: Laura Mercier
  2. Foundation: Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation
  3. Loose Powder: YSL
  4. Blush: Mac and Nars
  5. Contour: Bobbi Brown in Basic Brown
  6. Lips: a nude Nyx lipliner and Smashbox Lipgloss in Enduring
  7. Eyebrows: Shiseido eyebrow powder and Chanel 04
  8. Eyeshadow: Chanel Illusion d’Ombre Long Wear Luminous Eyeshadow, Mac in Eggplant, blended in with some espresso color
  9. Kohl Eyeliner by Mac
Leave a Reply

